Home > Uncategorized > Why Am I Singing?

Why Am I Singing?

“Why am I singing?” I think to myself.

I’m listening to Yusuf Islam sing. I imagine myself singing and dancing while “I think I see the Light” plays.

I think of Jellaludin Rumi while the former Cat Stevens sings “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood.” Rumi was a Muslim, you know. A poet, too. Yusuf Islam is said to have supported the death notice sent out by Ayatollah Khomeini to assasinate Salamon Rushdie. He turned a beautiful playmate away from his heart (they were to be married) when he decided her career violated the tenets of the Koran. It was cold stuff, but we didn’t really know him, did we? Bob Dylan, David Bowie and the old Beatles got more airplay than his soft rock music. He and Carole King didn’t rock like the rock stations needed to.

I’m glad he’s back.

There’s a new Paul Simon record out, too. It’s called Surprise. After listening to Yusuf it’s kind of hard to make out a lot of Paul’s lyrics. I downloaded the 2 new albums, Surprise and An Other Cup. Baba’s magazine DARSHAN had many articles on Rumi and his tradition, Sufism, and he taught about this sense of otherness. The sense of otherness is suffering. Recognition should be given also to Ram Butler who wrote the Siddha Yoga Correspondence Course for many years.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

