Home > Uncategorized > Entry for July 07, 2008

Entry for July 07, 2008

I guess I can forget about those boots now, the transmission went out today.

I was about to cross the railroad tracks in Orange Heights and the driver in front of me was especially careful and I had to slam on my brakes because I was moving to fast. When the car tried to get back into a lower gear it couldn’t. I knew something was wrong right away and I pulled into the entrance to the Orange Heights Baptist Church which is right there. I tried reverse and it didn’t work. I was able to move forward though, but I was only able to move at a low speed. The transmission just wouldn’t shift into higher gears, I guess.

I was able to make a circle, a kind of a u-turn and I went back to the house – at 30 miles an hour or less. It was a long ride at that speed. I passed the Brown’s Farm and I had a thought to pull in there but I figured I could make it home and that would be better.

My friend Jim said a rebuilt transmission was going to go about $1600 so I can’t imagine what a new transmission will cost. Maybe $3,000? I don’t know.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

