Illiteracy

I am running low on funds, you might say. I need to pay that TV bill, electric and phone, this month. The $200 in food stamps won’t take me too far and I’ve decided I have to sell some of my valuables to pay the rent. I have a set of books by Srila Bhaktivedanta Prabhupada. Recently bought, they cost me $466.50 on 11/23/08. I’m hoping to get $320 for them. I have read them little though maybe I should have. I don’t agree with Prabhupada’s position on abortion and other things. While he opposes abortion he supports the right of the state to execute. I find Krishna, on the other hand, a great powerful concept of God. I was first drawn to Krishna when I read the theories and prophecies of the A.A. Bailey books. The Tibetan, Djwahl Kuhl, speaking through A.A. Bailey wrote of the unity of all religions and compared the Christian concept of Father, Son and the Holy Ghost to the Hindus’ Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. So, Krishna, the chief incarnation of Vishnu became my Jesus, my Christ. Prabhupada doesn’t see it that way, however. The Founder-Acarya of the Hare Krsna movement or the International Society for Krishna Consciousness see Jesus, or Christ as the son of Krishna.

I get little feedback on all this because I believe there is in our nation a trend toward illiteracy. I believe it is actually encouraged by people who don’t like what is written, i.e. the A.A. Bailey books or even the books on Krsna Bhakti. Whenever I mention books like Play of Consciousness by Swami Muktananda or I am That by Swami Satchidananda or Autobiography of a Yogi by Paramahamsa Yogananda I am met with ignorance. Reading the obits that the New York Times condescended to publish on the passing of Sathya Sai Baba I realize that even the literate can offer substantial belligerance when the subject of the spiritual master is broached. I’ve seen it before and it is part of what I call a trend toward illiteracy. Prejudice is what it is and illiteracy is always a part of that.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

