Home > American Culture, My life, tHE gREAT gOMBOO! > The One and the Two

The One and the Two

Some folk inspire the old days. They are like movie producers/directors trying to

recreate the 50’s or 60’s, maybe even the 40’s in some cases. Sure, movie makers

try to recreate many different eras. Why? Well, it’s in the script, it’s part of the

project. I must admit a partiality to the 70’s, to hippie communes and Indian

philosophy but others prefer something else. Something at war with those days

and things. In this regard I thought of the old One and Two today. One, the Shaivites

who believe there is only one soul which appears as this universe. It is the cause

as well as the effect of the universe. Two, the Vaishnavas, who believe the inner

self, Krsna, is the creator of the universe and we, the devotee or miscreants are the

effect.  My late uncle, a veteran of WWII, used to minimize our bathroom necessities

by calling them the 1 and the 2. One for urinating and Two for defecating. Such large

words weren’t my Brooklyn uncle’s thing so it was really One for piss and Two for

shit.

I am often distracted while chanting my chants. There is a story of demons destroying

sacrifices in the Shrimad Bhagavatam. It is early on in the scripture. It makes Shiva

quite unhappy. This disturbing of my sacrifice of words, my chanting, reminds me of

that. That’s besides the point, really. I had to wander off into this philosophical “shit’

while I was singing the Hymn to Mahalakshmi. It reminds me of Rodney Dangerfield,

no respect, The Hymn to Mahalakshmi don’t get no respect. The arguments rule. They

reign supreme.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

