Home > tHE gREAT gOMBOO! > The Bhagavad Gita

The Bhagavad Gita

When I was 25 I became enamored of the Hare Krsna movement. I liked the stories of Lord Krsna and the idea that just by chanting this mantra Hare Krsna Hare Krsna Krsna Krsna Hare Hare Hare Rama Hare Rama Rama Rama Hare Hare I could become self-realized, a state of being I had become aware of through books like Autobiography of a Yogi and others.
But it really wasn’t that simple. You had to refrain from sexual activity, there could be no imbibing of spirits and no tobacco or caffeine. Definitely no drugs. Still I could see it. I loved the books. I liked the deities all dressed and nice. I liked the devotion.
The first place I went to where I actually learned the mantra was a place on Depot Ave. in Gainesville, Florida. I had been to a center/temple before in Boulder, Colorado but I couldn’t get past this fellow telling me to sit up straight. I thought it was enough that I was there, accepting their invitations, but they don’t see it that way. That way is like you are doing GOD some favor. You do favors for God. That’s EGO.
Things like that are always getting in my way. I can’t get over that Hare Krsna thing. Remember the song by George Harrison. He must have been out of drugs to join them. I was. I was fresh out of drugs when I went to that place on Depot. And no friends either. It was like a Hail Mary pass. I would dig myself out of this ignomy by joining them. But it never happened. Years later, when there was no juice in their mantra and there was juice at Depot, I went to the Sunday Feasts. The food was good, organic, fresh from the farm. You had to appreciate it but I was also eating prasadam at the Siddha Meditation Center and who knows what I would have at home, even meat sometimes.

Categories: tHE gREAT gOMBOO!
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

